×

Non-Governmental Organizations

Sunday, 15 Rajab 1439 AH - 1 April 2018 AD 10:20 AM - 12:00 PM Auditorium 1

Session moderator : Dr Talat Al Wazna

Spekers:

1- Disabilities: Support from Non-Profits and Philanthropy

O-7 : Speaker : Dr Vera Luxner

Time: 10:20 AM -10:40 AM

Vera Luxner

Director of Institutional Giving

Inova Health System

 

Vera S. Luxner has dedicated more than 10 years leading successful fundraising campaigns on behalf of internationally recognized hospitals to improve the health of children and adults worldwide. She has personally raised more than $36 million to support projects related to research and innovations in medicine, business development, education and international relations.

Vera’s science, business and marketing education enrich her interactions with prospects, donors, board members, volunteers, nurses, physician-scientists and senior leadership. Building fundraising strategies and developing strong relationships with donors define her daily work.

 

Disabilities: Support from Non-Profits and Philanthropy

 

While celebrating the 10th anniversary of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD) this year, I focus on who are funding, supporting, advocating, and partnering to advance the situation of people with disabilities around the world, including those with disabilities related to ageing.

I shall provide an overview of global philanthropic organisations advancing the field of disability including a specific sample:  The Kellar School at Inova Health System in Virginia; to illustrate some of their disability-related work, outlining their approach and achievements, as well as some challenges and learnings.

Also, I shall talk about Inova Rehabilitation Center, a world class specialized facility dedicated to the recovery of people with disabilities from brain, stroke, spinal cord, orthopedic, neurological injuries. Each year, we treat thousands of inpatients and outpatients thanks to over two hundred dedicated rehabilitation specialists who are exclusive to the center alone.

Last, I shall share two patient’s stories.

2- Impact: The Purpose and Promise of Charities in Saudi Arabia

O-8 : Speaker: Doug White

Time: 10:40 AM -11:00 AM

Doug White

Advisor – Non Profit Organizations

Doug White, a long-time leader in the nation's philanthropic community, is an author, teacher, and an advisor to nonprofit organizations and philanthropists. He is the former director of the Master of Science in Fundraising Management program at Columbia University in New York City, where he also taught board governance, ethics and fundraising.  He is the author of five books on philanthropy.  Since 1979 Doug has advised hundreds of charities of all types and sizes. Today, he works closely with select organizations on ethical decision-making, board governance, and fundraising, as well as with individual philanthropists who want to see their gifts used most effectively.

Impact: The Purpose and Promise of Charities in Saudi Arabia

This presentation begins with a brief review of the structural and operational aspects of nonprofit organizations in the United State and in other countries, and then addresses the need for accountability and effectiveness.  The presenter then describes a comprehensive system of reporting and oversight would best serve Saudi Arabia.  Then – because charities play a special and unique role in society, and the world would be very different without them – the presenter will discuss how charities can be a positive force in improving society and the need to measure and communicate that improvement. 

3-  The Relationship Between Nonprofits And Businesses

O-9 : Speaker: Susan White

Time: 11:00-11:20

Susan White

Business Development, Client Data Solutions 

Bloomberg LP

 

In her 18 years at Bloomberg she has been responsible for cultivating talent and developing businesses that generated more than $400 million in annual revenue. Her experience spans a broad spectrum of clients in North and South America and include long standing relationships with the Hedge Fund, Banking and Investment Management community.

She derives great satisfaction in knowing that she has had a great impact on the talent she has cultivated and the business relationships that she continues to nourish. “If I can’t help, I won’t waste your time—but as a person who likes to connect people, if you have a need, I may be able to point you in the right direction.”
Prior to joining Bloomberg LP, Susan was a Sales Manager at MetLife, owned an Aromatherapy firm, and spent several years working in the mortgage-backed new issue divisions of Salomon Brothers and Lehman Brothers. She holds a BS degree in Finance. Fun facts: Susan was a flight attendant for a brief time, lived in the Caribbean for a year and back packed around the world for 14 months

 

The Relationship Between Nonprofits And Businesses

 

Collaboration between nonprofits and businesses is strategically important. As both nonprofits and businesses should benefit, partnerships should include philanthropic and transactional considerations.  How should charities approach businesses?  What, if anything, should businesses expect from charities in return for their philanthropy?  In this presentation, attendees will learn about the need for charities to establish good lines of communication with businesses that will help fund their cause.  They will also learn how charities can be clear about what they need and why helping them can often be good for businesses – and society in general.

4- Fundraising

O-10 : Speaker: Nora Alsedairy

Time: 11:20-10:40

Norah Al-Sedairy

Expert

Non-Profit Organizations

Ms. Norah Al-Sedairy has extensive experience in both consulting and nonprofit environments in the United States. Her interest in nonprofit management as a professional career began during her internship with the Dubai Harvard Foundation for Medical Research in Boston. She has worked on a wide variety of NGO projects, including CEO succession plans, consulting on board governance, addressing fundraising challenges, and grant writing. Ms. Al-Sedairy has worked with Deloitte Consulting in New York City on a project for Columbia University that conducted feasibility studies to evaluate the impact of graduate programs on alumni and staff.

Ms. Al-Sedairy’s work focuses on fundraising and development strategies for nonprofit organizations. This includes identifying prospective donors, creating annual giving plans, constructing grant proposals, analyzing foundation and corporate fundraising programs, communicating recommendations to executive leadership, and improving donor relations. She also works on identifying new sources of revenue through innovative outreach strategies by engaging with a variety of donors, sponsors, and members. Her specific area of interest includes NGOs advocating on issues related to health, education, and environment.

Ms. Al-Sedairy has her Bachelor degree from Lesley University, majoring in Business Management and specializing in Nonprofit Management. In addition, Ms. Al-Sedairy earned two Master of Science degrees from Columbia University and The New School University with majors in Nonprofit Management and Fundraising Management.

Fundraising

The life-blood of almost all charities is found in their ability to raise money and, thus, to create financial sustainability.  While they often have other sources of revenue, such as government grants and fees for services, charities cannot survive if they don’t obtain philanthropic support from foundations and individuals. Attendees will learn the basics of fundraising, such as the mechanics and scheduling of the process, how to make the most out of personal visits, and how best to make their case and craft their appeals for the best results.

5- Brain Health – A Global Goal for All Mankind

O-11 : Speaker: Garen Staglin

Time: 11:40-12:00

Garen K. Staglin

Founder and Co-Chairman of One Mind

Garen is a Founder and Co-Chairman of One Mind (www.onemiond.org).  Launched in 2011 with former Congressman Patrick Kennedy, ONE MIND™ is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit organization dedicated to curing the diseases of the brain and eliminating the stigma and discrimination associated with mental illness and brain injuries. ONE MIND™ sponsors groundbreaking new research and creates portals to shared scientific data, leading to improved diagnostics, more effective treatment, and, ultimately, cures for all types of mental illness and brain injury.

 

Brain Health – A Global Goal for All Mankind

Brian Disease is the #1 Cause of Adult Disability.  Because it generally strikes people when they are young, the World Health Organization puts it at the top of the list in terms of economic impact on countries across the world (as measured in DALYS).  While certain mechanisms and genetic mutations have been identified by scientists working in isolation, real progress in unlocking the mysteries of the brain by large scale collaborative projects involving shared insights, aka “open science.”  Mr. Staglin will present the results of two exemplary longitudinal studies involving multiple research sites who agreed to share data and intellectual property which have resulted in breakthroughs in brain disease research.  The National Prodrome Longitudinal Study (NAPLS) was originally launched in 1995 with seed funding from the Staglin Family and One Mind.  This 9 site effort was subsequently the beneficiary of two NIMH grants totaling $45 Million and has  focused on early detection for youth at risk for psychosis.  With a cohort of over 1,000 NAPLS has successfully developed protocols which have a 70% accuracy in predicting the likelihood of psychosis before it happens and treatment protocols that can significantly delay onset.  Mr. Staglin will also present findings from TRACK II – TBI, also benefitting from early support by One Mind, a 19 site Level 1 Trauma center study of 3,000 patients with a Traumatic Brain Injury.  By working tougher and sharing data, TRACK has secured combined funding from the National Institute of Health and Department of Defense ($34 Million) and contributions from industry for over $47 Million.  Track-II research data has developed a bio-marker for both Blood and Imaging which have received a Letter of Support from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and are working on a commercial adaptation with Abbott Labs.  He was also lay out a plan for a global collaborative research effort to be supported by a social impact Bond issued by the World Bank.  These efforts are targeted at reducing the $3 Trillion global economic burden of brain disease..

×

دور المؤسسات الغير حكومية

الأحد 15 رجب 1439هـ ، 1 أبريل 2018 م 10:20-12:00 القاعة : 1

مدير الجلسة: د. طلعت الوزنة

المتحدثون:

1- الإعاقة: تدعمها المؤسسات غير الربحية والأعمال الخيرية

O-7 : المتحدث : د. فيرا لوكسنر

الموعد  : 10:20-10:40

د. فيرا لوكسنر

مدير العطاء المؤسسي

مؤسسة إنوفا للرعاية الصحية

 

كرست فيرا لوكسنر أكثر من 10 سنوات في قيادة حملات ناجحة لجمع التبرعات نيابة عن مستشفيات معترف بها دوليا لتحسين صحة الأطفال والبالغين على مستوى العالم أجمع. فقد جمعت أكثر من 36 مليون دولارا لدعم مشروعات تتعلق بالأبحاث والابتكارات في المجال الطبي ومجال تطوير الأعمال والمجال التعليمي وكذلك مجال العلاقات الدولية.

إن ما تعلمته فيرا في مجالات العلوم والأعمال والتسويق يثري تعاملاتها فبي مختلف الآفاق والمتبرعين وأعضاء المجلس والمتطوعين والممرضات والعلماء الأطباء ومع القيادة العليا. يحدد وضع فيرا لاستراتيجيات جمع التبرعات وتطويرها للعلاقات القوية مع المتبرعين نشاطها اليومي.

 

الإعاقة: تدعمها المؤسسات غير الربحية والأعمال الخيرية

في الاحتفال بالذكرى العاشرة لاتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة هذا العام، أقوم بالتركيز على من يقومون بالتمويل والدعم والداعين والمشاركين في تحسين موقف الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة حول العالم بمن فيهم من يعانون من إعاقة بسبب الشيخوخة.

أقدم نبذة عن المنظمات الخيرية التي تقوم بتطوير جهودها في مجال الإعاقة ومدرسة كيلار في مؤسسة إنوفا للرعاية الصحية بفيرجينيا؛ كمثال بسيط لتلك المنظمات لتوضيح بعض الأعمال المتعلقة بالإعاقة ورسم منهاجيتهم وأهدافهم وكذلك بعض التحديات والأمور التعليمية.

كذلك لا يجب أن ينتهي الحديث دون ذكر مركز إنوفا لإعادة التأهيل فهو منشأة على طراز عالمي متخصصة تعمل على تعافي المعاقين من إصابات الدماغ والسكتة الدماغية وجراحات العظام والإصابات العصبية. في كل عام، ألاف المرضى الداخليين والخراجيين ويرجع الفضل في ذلك إلى المائتي متخصص المعنيين بإعادة التأهيل وهم من يعملون في المركز فقط.

في النهاية أود مشاركة قصة إثنين من المرضى

 

2- التأثير:  الهدف والوعد منوالجمعيات الخيرية في المملكة العربية السعودية

O-8 :المتحدث : د. دوج وايت

الموعد  : 10:40-11:00

دوغ و ايت

مستشار - المنظمات غير الربحية

 

دوغ وايت هو  قائد في المجتمع الخيري للأمة مُنذ وقت طويل، وهو مؤلف ومعلم ومستشار فيالمنظمات الخيرية غير الربحية. وهو كذلك المدير السابق لبرنامج ماجستير علوم الأدارة في جمع التبرعات بجامعة كولومبيا في مدينة نيويورك ، حيث قام بتدريس حوكمة المجلس وأخلاقيات المالية. دوغ أيضاً مؤلف لخمسة كتب جميعها عن الأعمال الخيرية. وقد قدم دوغ النصائح للمئات من الجمعيات الخيرية بكافة  أنواعها وأشكالها منذ عام 1979. واليوم ، يعمل دوغ عن كثب مع منظمات مختارة حول اتخاذ القرارات الأخلاقية ، وحوكمة المجلس ، وجمع التبرعات ، وكذلك مع الأفرد الذين يرغبون في فعل الخير ويعلموا بأن هباتهم تستخدم على الوجة الأكثر فعالية.

 

التأثير:  الهدف والوعد منوالجمعيات الخيرية في المملكة العربية السعودية

 

يبدأ هذا العرض بمراجعة موجزة للجوانب الهيكلية والتشغيلية للمنظمات غير الربحية في الولايات المتحدة وفي بلدان أخرى ، ثم يتناول الحاجة إلى المسؤليةوالفعالية ثم يصف مقدم البرنامج بعد ذلك نظامًا شاملاً للرقابة والإبلاغ يخدم المملكة العربية السعودية على أفضل وجه. ثم سوف يناقش مقدم البرنامج كيف يمكن للجمعيات الخيرية أن تكون قوة إيجابية في تحسين المجتمع وكذلك الحاجة إلى قياس وإيصال هذا التطور لأن الجمعيات الخيرية تلعب دورا خاصا وفريدا في المجتمع ، وسيكون العالم مختلفا جدا بدونها

3- العلاقة بين المنظمات غير الربحية والشركات

O-9 : المتحدث : د. سوزان وايت

الموعد  : 11:00-11:20

 

سوزان وايت
تطوير الأعمال ، وحلول بيانات العميل
بلومبيرج إل بي


خلال 18 عامًا من عملها في بلومبيرج، كانت مسؤولة عن تنمية المواهب وتطوير الأعمال التي حققت إيرادات سنوية تزيد عن 400 مليون دولار. تمتد خبرتها على نطاق واسع من العملاء في أمريكا الشمالية والجنوبية وتتضمن علاقات طويلة الأمد مع صندوق التحوط ، إدارة الأعمال المصرفية والاستثمار.

وهي تشعر بارتياح كبير من معرفتها بأن لها تأثير كبيرعلى الموهبة التي اكتسبتها والعلاقات التجارية التي تواصل إثرائها. "إذا لم أتمكن من المساعدة لن أضيع وقتك ، ولكن كشخص يحب التواصل مع الناس إذا كنت بحاجة  فقد أكون قادرًا على توجيهك في الاتجاه الصحيح".
قبل التحاقها بشركة بلومبيرج إل بي ، كانت سوزان مديرة المبيعات في شركة متلايف التي تمتلك شركة أروماثيرابي، ولقد أمضت عدة سنوات في العمل على قضية الرهن العقاري الجديدة المدعومة في خلافات الإخوة سالمون والإخوة ليمان. وهي حاصلة على درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم المالية. حقائق ممتعة: سوزان كانت مضيفة طيران لفترة وجيزة ،وعاشت في منطقة الكاريبي لمدة عام وجابت  جميع أنحاء العالم بحقيبة ظهر واحدة فقط في 14 شهرا.

العلاقة بين المنظمات غير الربحية والشركات

يعد التعاون بين المؤسسات غير الربحية والشركات أمرًا مهمًا من الناحية الاستراتيجية. نظرًا لاستفادة كل من المؤسسات غير الربحية والشركات ، حيث أن الشراكات يجب أن تشمل الاعتبارات الخيرية والمتعلقة بالمعاملات. كيف يجب على المؤسسات الخيرية التعامل مع الشركات؟ ما الذي يجب أن تتوقعه الشركات من المؤسسات الخيرية مقابل أعمالها الخيرية؟ في هذا العرض ، سيتعلم الحضور عن الحاجة إلى المؤسسات الخيرية لإنشاء خطوط تواصل جيدة مع الشركات التي ستساعد في تمويل قضيتهم. كما سيتعلمون كيف يمكن للجمعيات الخيرية أن تكون واضحة بشأن احتياجاتهم ولماذا يمكن أن تكون مساعدتهم في كثير من الأحيان مفيدة للشركات - والمجتمع بشكل عام

4- جمع التبرعات

O-10 : المتحدث : د. نورة السديري

الموعد  : 11:20-11:40

نوره السديري

خبيرة في مجالات الخدمات الإستشارية للمنظمات الغير ربحية

 

تمتلك الأستاذة نورا السديري خبرة مكثفة في مجال الخدمات الاستشارية والمنظمات غير الربحية في الولايات المتحدة. وقد بدأ اهتمامها بالدخول في مجال إدارة المنظمات غير الربحية أثناء مشاركتها في التدريب الخاص بمؤسسة دبي هارفارد للأبحاث الطبية في بوسطن. كما عملت في عديد من المشروعات الخاصة بالمنظمات غير الحكومية، بما فيها تخطيط التعاقب من قبل الرئيس التنفيذي وتقديم خدمات استشارية بشأن إدارة المجلس والتصدي للتحديات التي تواجه عملية الحصول على تمويل وتدوين عمليات التمويل. كما عملت لدى شركة ديلويت للاستشارات في مدينة نيويورك في تنفيذ مشروعا مقدما إلى جامعة كولومبيا، حيث أجرت دراسات جدوى لتقييم مدى تأثير برامج الدراسات العليا على كل من الخريجين والموظفين.

ويتركز عمل الأستاذة نورا السديري على استراتيجيات الحصول على تمويل والاستراتيجيات الإنمائية الخاصة بالمنظمات غير الربحية. ويتضمن هذا العمل تحديد الجهات المانحة المحتملة ووضع خطط منح سنوية وتقديم مقترحات بشأن المنح وتحليل برامج تمويل المؤسسات والشركات ونقل التوصيات إلى القيادة التنفيذية، فضلا عن تحسين العلاقات القائمة بين الجهات المانحة. كما تعمل على تحديد مصادر جديدة للدخل عبر وضع استراتيجيات توعية مبتكرة، وذلك من خلال التشارك مع عدد من الجهات المانحة والجهات الراعية والأعضاء. ويدخل ضمن نطاق اهتماماتها منظمات غير حكومية تدعم قضايا تتعلق بالصحة والتعليم والبيئة.

وحصلت الأستاذة نورا السديري على درجتها العلمية من قبل جامعة ليزلي في مجال إدارة الأعمال وتخصصت في مجال إدارة المنظمات غير الحكومية. وفضلا عن ذلك، حصلت الأستاذة نورا السديري على درجتي ماجستير في مجال العلوم من قبل جامعة كولومبيا وجامعة ذا نيو سكول في تخصصات إدارة المنظمات غير الحكومية وإدارة الحصول على تمويل.

 

جمع التبرعات

شريان حياة كل الجمعيات الخيرية تقريباً هو في قدرتها على جمع المال ، وبالتالي خلق الاستدامة المالية. وفي حين أن لدى الجمعيات الخيرية في الغالب مصادر أخرى للإيرادات مثل المنح الحكومية ورسوم الخدمات إلا أنهم لايمكنهم البقاء على قيد الحياة إذا لم يحصلوا على دعم خيري من المؤسسات والأفراد. وسيتعلم الحضور كذلك أساسيات جمع التبرعات مثل الأليات وجدولة العملية ، وكيفية الاستفادة القصوى من الزيارات الشخصية ، وأفضل طريقة لإثبات قضيتهم وصياغة نداءاتهم للحصول على أفضل النتائج

 

5-  صحة الدماغ -هدف عالمي للبشرية جمعاء

O-11 : المتحدث : د. غارن ستاغلين

الموعد  : 11:40-12:00

 

غارن كي ستاغلين 

المؤسس والرئيس المشترك لوان مايند

 

يعد غارن هو المؤسس والرئيس المشترك لوان مايند (www.onemiond.org). أطلقت في عام 2011 من عضو الكونغرس السابق باتريك كينيدي، تعد وان مايند (ماركة مسجلة) هي منظمة مستقلة وغير حزبية وغير ربحية مكرسة لعلاج أمراض الدماغ والتخلص من الأثار والتمييزات المرتبطة بالمرض العقلي وإصابات الدماغ. تقوم وان ميند (ماركة مسجلة) برعاية أبحاث جديدة وتخلق بوابات للبيانات العلمية المشتركة، مما يؤدي إلى تحسين التشخيص والعلاج الأكثر فعالية، وفي نهاية المطاف، علاج جميع أنواع الأمراض العقلية وإصابات الدماغ.

 

صحة الدماغ -هدف عالمي للبشرية جمعاء

 

يعد مرض الدماغ هو السبب رقم1 في إعاقة البالغين. ولأنه عادة ما يصيب الناس عندما يكونون صغارا، فإن منظمة الصحة العالمية تضعها في مقدمة القائمة من حيث التأثير الاقتصادي على البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم (كما هو مقاس بسنوات العمر المعدلة حسب الإعاقة). في حين تم تحديد بعض الآليات والطفرات الجينية من قبل العلماء الذين يعملون في عزلة وتقدم حقيقي لفتح أسرار الدماغ من خلال مشاريع تعاونية واسعة النطاق تنطوي على رؤى مشتركة وتعرف أيضا باسم "العلوم المفتوحة". سيقدم السيد ستاغلين نتائج اثنين من الدراسات النموذجية المطولة التي تشمل مواقع بحثية متعددة توافق على تبادل البيانات والملكية الفكرية مما أدى إلى تحقيق طفرات في أبحاث أمراض الدماغ. وقد بدأت الدراسة الطولية الوطنية للأعراض (نابلس) أصلا في عام 1995 بتمويل أولي من عائلة ستاغلين ومؤسسة وان مايند. استفاد هذا الجهد ذو التسعة مواقع في وقت لاحق من منحتين للمعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية بلغ مجموعهما 45 مليون دولار وقد ركز على الكشف المبكر للشباب المعرضين لخطر الذهان. ومع مجموعة مكونة من أكثر من 1،000 عنصر، فقد طورت الدراسة الطولية الوطنية للأعراض بنجاح البروتوكولات التي لديها دقة 70٪ في للتنبؤ باحتمالية الذهان قبل أن يحدث وبروتوكولات العلاج التي يمكن أن تؤخر البداية بشكل كبير. وسيقدم السيد ستاغلين أيضا نتائج من تراك تو– تي بي أي الذي يستفيد أيضا من الدعم المبكر من قبل مؤسسة وان مايند لدراسات مركز الإصابات من 19 موقع من المستوى 1 لعدد 3000 مريض ممن يعانون من إصابات الدماغ. من خلال العمل بطريقة أكثر صرامة وبتبادل البيانات، حصلت تراك على تمويل مشترك من المعهد الوطني للصحة ووزارة الدفاع (34 مليون دولار) ومساهمات من الصناعة بأكثر من 47 مليون دولار. وقد طورت بيانات البحث تراك تو العلامة الحيوية لكل من الدم والتصوير الذي تلقي خطاب دعم من إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية التي تعمل على التكيف التجاري مع مختبرات أبوت. كما وضع خطة لجهود بحثية تعاونية عالمية يدعمها سند أثر اجتماعي قام البنك الدولي بإصداره. وتهدف هذه الجهود إلى خفض العبء الاقتصادي العالمي لأمراض الدماغ والذي يبلغ 3 تريليون دولار.