×

Medical Rehabilitation

Sunday, 15 Rajab 1439 AH - 1 April 2018 AD 1:30 PM-3:00 PM Round Auditorium

Session moderator : Dr Hisham Al Haidary

Spekers:

1- O-22 : Fall Prevention in Older Adults. Strategies for Community Based Programs

Speaker: Dr Judith Ismail

Time: 1:30 PM-1:50 PM

Dr Judith Malek-Ismail DHSc, OTR/L

Assistant Professor

Radford University

 

Judith Malek-Ismail, M.S.Ed., D.H.S.c, OTR/L, is an Assistant Professor in the Master of Occupational Therapy program at Radford University, where she has taught for the past 4 years. Dr. Ismail has been an occupational therapy educator at the university level for over 17 years. Judith has held positions as both Academic Program Director and Academic Fieldwork Coordinator in occupational therapy. Her current teaching includes training future occupational therapists to improve, enhance and restore occupational performance of the individuals and populations that are served by the profession, including community based occupational therapy practice. Prior to full-time academia, Dr.Ismail managed rehabilitation staff, and practiced occupational therapy in several comprehensive rehabilitation centers and outpatient clinics to provide rehabilitative services for children and adults. She was also the founder of a breast care center that treated women with post mastectomy lymphedema. Judith is certified in 'Sensory Integration' and 'Manual Lymphatic Drainage Therapy'. She is a 'Matter of Balance' fall prevention Master Trainer and a 'CarFit Trainer' to help senior drivers fit in their vehicles. Judith has presented at the American Occupational Therapy Association National Conference for the past five years on community based interventions and occupational therapy education. She serves on the American Occupational Therapy Associations Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education as a reviewer of academic programs. She is a member of the World Federation of Occupational Therapy

 

Fall Prevention in Older Adults. Strategies for Community Based Programs

 

The population is aging. According to Saif, Waly and Alsenany (2012) there will be over 2.5 million older adults (over 60 years of age) in Saudi Arabia by the year 2010. Falls are considered as the main public health problem for older adults in the United States, with one in three older adults falling annually. In 2015 the United States Medicare program spent over $31 billion dollars treating fall related injuries in older adults. There are several factors that may contribute to falls, including a cluttered or inaccessible home environment, lack of regular exercise, and the use of some medications. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2017) one out of five falls results in a fall fatality or a serious injury, such as a traumatic brain injury or a hip fracture. Falls related to the aging population is likely an international problem. These serious fall related injuries may lead to dependence in mobility, and activities of daily living. Even if a fall does not result in an injury, older adults frequently become afraid of falling again and further decrease their everyday activities, and limit their participation in social and other community activities. The home environment can be modified to prevent the likelihood of a fall. Older adults can participate in evidence based fall prevention programs in the community. These programs are designed to improve balance, strength and flexibility through group based exercise. Some evidence based fall prevention programs include cognitive re-structuring components designed to help the older adult overcome their fear of falling. This presentation will review how falls threaten an older adults’ health, independence and quality of life. The most common mechanisms of falls. Fall prevention strategies. A handout with a list of evidence based fall prevention programs, a summary of each program and a link to the website for each program.

2- O-23 : The AURORA Study: Achieving Breakthroughs to Improve Physical and Mental Health Outcomes after Trauma

Speaker: Dr Samuel McLean

Time: 1:50 PM-2:10 PM

Dr Samuel McLean

Director

Institute for Trauma Recovery

University of North Carolina

 

Samuel McLean, MD, is an emergency medicine physician and Jeffery Houpt Distinguished Investigator at the University of North Carolina, where he directs the Institute for Trauma Recovery. He has developed and leads several national research networks dedicated to improving the mental and physical recovery of trauma survivors. These networks include networks dedicated to helping improve the recovery of individuals hospitalized after major thermal burn injury, the recovery of women experiencing sexual assault, and recovery after other types of trauma including motor vehicle collision. Dr. McLean’s current work includes serving as the organizing PI of the AURORA Study, a > 30 million dollar study funded by the National Institutes of Health, One Mind, and other partners and leveraged by public-private partnerships with Google’s life sciences company (Verily) and with Mindstrong Health.

 

The AURORA Study: Achieving Breakthroughs to Improve Physical and Mental Health Outcomes after Trauma

 

Hundreds of millions of individuals around the world experience traumatic and/or severely stressful events such as motor vehicle collision, physical or sexual assault, natural disasters, or the sudden unexpected death of a spouse or family member. Prolonged physical and mental health disability are common after such events, due to disorders such as posttraumatic stress, depression, minor traumatic brain injury, and regional or widespread pain. Currently it is not possible to identify individuals who are a high risk of developing prolonged disability in the immediate aftermath of trauma or severe stress. In addition, how these disorders develop is not understood, and no interventions exist which prevent prolonged disability in those at high risk. The AURORA Study is a large-scale prospective study of trauma survivors that is currently being conducted at more than 20 trauma centers across the US. Five thousand individuals who experience trauma or extreme stress are screened, recruited, and receive initial baseline evaluation including blood collection and psychophysical, survey, and neurocognitive evaluation. These individuals are then monitored over the next year using the following:  a wrist wearable designed by Google’s Life Sciences Company, Verily, for monitoring of physiology and sleep; a smart phone app designed by Mindstrong Health for continuous-time monitoring of GPS and daily “flash” surveys; weekly web-based neurocognitive tests; periodic mixed-mode surveys; serial saliva collection; and deep phenotyping assessments [blood collection, fMRI, psychophysical evaluation]). Adaptive sampling and state-of-the-art statistical methods will be used to develop predictive tools and biomarkers to identify trauma survivors at high risk of prolonged disability in the early aftermath of trauma, achieve breakthroughs in understanding their development, and develop new interventions to prevent disability in those at high risk.

3- O-24 : Prediction and prevention of disability in older population

Speaker: Dr Ahmad Al Habtar

Time: 2:10 PM-2:30 PM

Dr. Ahmed Alhabter

Fellowship of the Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

Spinal Cord Injury Medicine Fellowship, Australia

Consultant Rehabilitation Medicine, King Faisal Medical City

Predictors of physical activity limitation in community dwelling older Australian men: prospective cohort study (the Concord Health and Ageing in Men Project) 

The proportion of older people in many societies has been growing since the beginning of the twentieth century. Due to increased health care need for this group of people; their wellbeing and disability have been the focus of research during the past few decades. This includes understanding disability onset which has been an important goal of epidemiological studies Design. According to the WHO, activity limitations are difficulties an individual may have in executing activities.

4- O-25 : The evidence for hands-on therapy for children with Cerebral Palsy: results from two South African studies

Speaker: Dr Gillian Saloojee

Time: 2:30 PM-2:50 PM

Dr. Gillian Saloojee

Executive Director

Malamulele Onward

 

The evidence for hands-on therapy for children with Cerebral Palsy: results from two South African studies 

 

BACKGROUND

Ethical considerations of withholding therapy make it difficult to establish evidence for hands-on functional therapeutic handling for children with Cerebral Palsy (CP). Resource-constrained settings offer an opportunity to address this dilemma as standard care often comprises limited therapy (e.g. 30 minutes monthly, equating to five hours annually).

 

AIM

To establish whether direct therapeutic handling conferred any advantage on the functional performance of children with CP living in a poor rural South African district.

 

METHOD

Two studies were conducted in different rural provinces in South Africa.

In the first, twenty children with moderate to severe CP received five consecutive days of intensive hands-on functional therapy; provision of appropriate equipment and caregiver training at one hospital. They were matched for age and Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS) level with 19 children who continued their usual 45-minute, once-monthly passive movement based therapy sessions at a second hospital in the same district.

In the second study, children aged 1 to 17 years across all Gross Motor Function Classification levels attending a rural CP Clinic were randomized into one of three study arms based on geographical clustering: (i) a once off two hour caregiver training session (no intervention group); (ii) a daily three hour caregiver training workshop over five days (caregiver training group) or (iii) a daily two hour caregiver training workshop plus 75 minutes of daily hands-on therapy for five days (therapy group). All children were given equipment and continued with their monthly therapy appointments. In both studies, child and caregiver related outcomes were assessed at baseline, immediately pre- and post-intervention, and eight weeks later using validated tools.

 

RESULTS

There was a statistically significant improvement in Gross Motor Function Measure-66 (GMFM-66) and Pediatric Evaluation Disability Inventory (PEDI) scores for the intervention group from baseline to follow-up  (GMFM-66 mean change=3.41, 95% Confidence Interval(CI) = 1.10–5.07, p=0.004;  PEDI mean change=3.10, 95%CI = 0.72–5.47; p=0.01) in the first study. Caregiver outcomes as measured by the Family Support (FSS) and Mental Health Scales (MHS) also improved significantly (FSS mean change=3.20, 95%CI = 0.87–5.52, p=0.01; MHS mean change=10.00; 95%CI = 8.79-19.12; p=0.03). No changes were seen in the control group for any of the outcomes.

 

Sixty-eight children were enrolled in the second study. At 8 week follow-up, GMFM scores were significantly better for the therapy group compared to the other two groups (mean difference therapy group 1.9 [95%CI 0.05–3.8]; caregiver training group -0.64 [95%CI -1.3–2.8]; no intervention group 0.76 [95%CI -1.3–2.8]. Similarly, modified PEDI scores increased significantly in the therapy group (3.92 [95% CI _0.29–8.12] but not in the other groups. In contrast, caregiver related changes were greatest in the caregiver training group.

 

CONCLUSION

These studies offer the first evidence that in resource-constrained settings, a brief intensive once-off therapy intervention can significantly improve children’s functional performance in the short-term. Maximum gains can best be achieved through a combination of caregiver training and hands-on therapy

5- O-26 : Influence of the Spinal Manipulation on Muscle Spasticity in Cerebral Palsy, Randomized Controlled Trial

Speaker: Dr Taras Voloshyn

Time : 2:50 PM-3:10 PM

Dr Taras Voloshyn

Physician

International clinic of Rehabilitation

 

Born on September 26, 1984 in Lviv, Ukraine. Graduated from the Faculty of Medicine at the D. Halytsky Lviv National Medical University. From 2007 to 2009 completed his internship in neurology at the Rivne Central District Hospital and the Lviv Regional Clinical Hospital. He is a corresponding member of the European and Eastern European Academies of Childhood Disability since March, 2009. Dr. Voloshyn has published 25 articles. He is in charge of collaboration with the Karolinska Institute (Sweden), namely work on the international scale evaluating the severity of cerebral palsy (GMFCS), hand functions (MACS), video recordings of gross motor functions (GMFM), ASD.During 2016 visited Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Bahrain and UAE (business trips).

 

Influence of the Spinal Manipulation on Muscle Spasticity in Cerebral Palsy, Randomized Controlled Trial

 

Introduction. Resent research indicates possible influence of spinal manipulation (SM) on muscle spasticity. The aim of our study was to investigate the short-term influence of SM on wrist muscle spasticity and manual dexterity in Cerebral Palsy patients in a randomized controlled trial.
Patients and Methods. After baseline examination, 78 subjects with spastic CP (7-18 y) without contractures or hyperkinetic syndrome were randomly allocated into two groups. Experimental groups underwent SM, control group – imitation of the manipulation. Second evaluation was performed 5 min post intervention. Wrist muscle spasticity was gauged quantitatively with Neuroflexor, a device measuring resistance to passive movements of different velocities. Manual dexterity was evaluated by Box & Blocks test. Nonparametric statistics were used.
Results. In the experimental group muscle spasticity reduced by 2.18 newtons: from median 5.53 with interquartile range (IR) 8.66 to 3.35 (IR=7.19), the difference was statistically significant (p=0,002). In the control group reduction in spasticity was negligible. The between-group difference in change of muscle spasticity was statistically significant (p=0,034). Improvement of manual dexterity was not statistically significant (p=0.28).
Conclusions. Study indicates that SM causes reduction of spasticity in patients with CP. Long-term effects of spinal manipulation on muscle spasticity have to be studied.

6- O-27 : Studying the Impacts of Body Posture and Mental Workload on Office Workers' Health to ‎Prevent Injuries and Disabilities

Speaker: Dr Hani Alnakhli

Time : 3:10 PM-3:30 PM

Dr Hani Al Nakhli

Consultant Physical Therapist

Ministry of Health

 

Dr. Al-Nakhli is Currently a Consultant Physical Therapist at Al-Madinah Specialist (Takhassusi) Hospital. He has held a variety of positions during his endeavor, one of which was the Head of the Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Department at the Madinah Maternity & Children’s Hospital (MMCH). He is also a primary member of the Rehabilitation Education and Training Committee at the Ministry of Health.Dr. Al-Nakhli received his Doctor of Philosophy Degree (PhD) in Rehabilitation Science from Loma Linda University in California on 12/2011. During that period (and onwards), he worked on a number of research proposals, and had several scientific articles published in his area of expertise. He also carries a Doctoral Degree in Physical Therapy (DPT), and a Master's Degree in Physical Therapy (MPT).

 

Studying the impacts of body posture and mental workload on office workers’ health to prevent injuries and disabilities.

 

 Recent data has shown increasing rates of musculoskeletal and psychological disorders among the working community. These health-related complications are considered to be amongst the leading causes of disability, and limitation of motion within the modern office. Many of these disorders are commonly caused by an improperly accommodated workplace. However, office caused injuries have not yet received the required attention in the Saudi Arabian working community. The importance of this study surfaces as challenges will be faced; if this topic is not addressed adequately.

The study aims to detect and prevent office related injuries; in order to investigate their associations with improper workstation ergonomics. This was conducted within the framework of studying the current situation of office ergonomics with focus on sitting postures and mental workload. Correlations between workers' musculoskeletal and psychological pains, and their habits were evaluated. Proper design and healthy practices of the workstation were then advertised to minimize disabilities.

To collect the needed data, the study employed a thirty-item questionnaire distributed to more than one thousand randomly selected workers within Saudi Arabia. This questionnaire was developed to better study the personal demographics, medical information, muscular pain, physical therapy history, workstation ergonomics, sitting practices, and psychological comfort of the participants. The continuation of the data collection process was performed by conducting a randomized controlled trial consisting of thirty-six individuals, divided equally into three groups. This trial hypothesized significant variations of the subjects' heart rates and blood pressures in accordance with different postures and mental workloads.

After filtering and analyzing the collected data using the necessary statistical methods, sitting posture and mental workload were found to have significant effects on the studied vital signs. The results also indicated that approximately 78% of the participants experienced some sort of muscular pain, but only 30% of them visited a physical therapy clinic. While, improper sitting postures and/or incorrect workstation designs generated more than 30% of the muscular pain issues, benefits from physical therapy treatments had minimum impact. The study also revealed that more than 44% of the participants were supplied with inconvenient workstations, suggesting that the use of anthropometry and workplace ergonomics is not up to standards. Therefore, further studies regarding this finding is strongly recommended. As per the psychological comfort, the study was able to safely conclude that more than 55% of the participants were distressed and uncomfortable with their work environment.

In conclusion, raising the awareness of the population regarding the importance of workplace ergonomics is proposed; after highlighting the risks of bad sitting postures and psychological comfort. It is worth mentioning that the appropriate employment of office ergonomics requires the cooperation of both; employees and employers. Only by this alliance, ergonomics contributes in increasing productivity, and decreasing time loss leading to the maintenance of healthy individuals, and maximizing organizations profits.

×

التأهيل الطبي

الأحد 15 رجب 1439هـ ، 1 أبريل 2018 م 1:30-3:30 القاعة: المستديرة

مدير الجلسة: د. هشام الحيدري

المتحدثون:

1- O-22 : الوقاية من السقوط عند البالغين الأكبر سنا. استراتيجيات للبرامج المجتمعية

المتحدث : د. جوديث إسماعيل

الموعد  : 1:30-1:50

د. جوديث مالك إسماعيل

علوم الصحية، طبيبة مهنية مسجلة / مرخصة

استاذ مساعد

جامعة رادفورد

 

جوديث مالك-إسماعيل، ماجستير في العلوم في مجال التعليم، ودكتورة في العلوم الصحية، وطبيبة مهنية مسجلة / مرخصة، وأستاذ مساعد في برنامج الماجستير في العلاج المهني في جامعة رادفورد، حيث تدرس على مدى السنوات ال 4 الماضية. وكانت الدكتورة إسماعيل مدرسا للعلاج المهني على مستوى الجامعة لأكثر من 17 عاما. وقد شغل جوديث مناصب كل من مدير البرنامج الأكاديمي ومنسق العمل الميداني الأكاديمي في العلاج المهني. وتشمل تعليمها الحالي تدريب المعالجين المهنيين في المستقبل لتحسين وتعزيز واستعادة الأداء المهني للأفراد والمجتمعات التي تخدمهم المهنة، بما في ذلك ممارسة العلاج المهني القائم على المجتمع. وقبل عملها بالأوساط الأكاديمية بدوام كامل، قامت الدكتور إسماعيل بإدارة موظفي إعادة التأهيل، ومارست العلاج المهني في العديد من مراكز إعادة التأهيل الشاملة والعيادات الخارجية لتقديم خدمات إعادة التأهيل للأطفال والبالغين. كانت أيضا مؤسس مركز رعاية الثدي الذي يعالج النساء مع وذمة لمفية بعد استئصال الثدي. جوديث طبيبة معتمدة في "التكامل الحسي" و "علاج التصريف اللمفاوي اليدوي". انها مدربة متمرسة في الوقاية من السقوط "مسألة التوازن" و"مدربة كارفيت" لمساعدة كبار السائقين على التناسب في سياراتهم. وقد قدمت جوديث في المؤتمر الوطني للجمعية العلاج المهني الأمريكي على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية على التدخلات المجتمعية وتعليم العلاج المهني. وهي تعمل في مجلس الاعتماد العلاجي الأمريكي لتعليم العلاج المهني كمراجع للبرامج الأكاديمية. وهي عضو في الاتحاد العالمي للعلاج المهني.

 

الوقاية من السقوط عند البالغين الأكبر سنا. استراتيجيات للبرامج المجتمعية

 

إن المجتمع يشيخ. وفقا لسيف، والي والسناني (2012) سيكون هناك أكثر من 2.5 مليون من كبار السن (أكثر من 60 عاما) في المملكة العربية السعودية بحلول عام 2010. وتعتبر السقطات مشكلة الصحة العامة الرئيسية لكبار السن في الولايات المتحدة، مع سقوط واحد من كل ثلاثة من كبار السن سنويا. وفي عام 2015، أنفق برنامج الرعاية الطبية في الولايات المتحدة ما يزيد على 31 مليار دولار من دولارات الولايات المتحدة بسبب الإصابات الناجمة عن سقوط كبار السن. هناك العديد من العوامل التي قد تساهم في السقوط، بما في ذلك البيئة المنزلية المشوشة أو التي لا يمكن الوصول إليها، وعدم ممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام، واستخدام بعض الأدوية. وفقا لمراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (2017) واحد من أصل خمسة سقطات يتسبب في الوفاة أو إصابة خطيرة، مثل إصابات في الدماغ أو كسر الورك. السقطات المتعلقة بالشيخوخة من المحتمل أنها مشكلة دولية. قد تؤدي هذه الإصابات الخطيرة المرتبطة بالسقوط إلى الاعتماد على الغير في التنقل، وأنشطة الحياة اليومية. حتى إذا لم يسفر السقوط عن إصابة، فإن كبار السن في كثير من الأحيان يخافون من الوقوع مرة أخرى مما يسبب انخفاض أنشطتهم اليومية، والحد من مشاركتهم في الأنشطة الاجتماعية وغيرها من الأنشطة المجتمعية. يمكن تعديل البيئة المنزلية لمنع احتمال حدوث السقوط. يمكن للمسنين المشاركة في برامج الوقاية من السقوط القائمة على الأدلة في المجتمع. تم تصميم هذه البرامج لتحسين التوازن والقوة والمرونة من خلال الممارسة الجماعية. وتشمل بعض برامج الوقاية من السقوط القائمة على الأدلة مكونات إعادة الهيكلة المعرفية المصممة لمساعدة كبار السن على التغلب على خوفهم من السقوط. وسوف يستعرض هذا التقديم كيف يهدد السقوط صحة كبار السن واستقلاليتهم ونوعية حياتهم. والآليات الأكثر شيوعا من السقوط. واستراتيجيات الوقاية من السقوط. ونشرة مع قائمة من برامج الوقاية من السقوط القائمة على الأدلة، وملخص لكل برنامج ورابط للموقع الإلكتروني لكل برنامج.

 

2- O-23 : دراسة أورورا: تحقيق تطورات لتحسين النتائج الجسدية والصحة العقلية بعد الصدمة

المتحدث : د. صمويل ماكلين

الموعد  : 1:50-2:10

 

د. صمويل ماكلين

مدير معهد التعافي من الصدمات

جامعة كارولينا الشمالية

 

صموئيل ماكلين، طبيب طب الطوارئ ومحقق جيفري هوبت المتميز في جامعة كارولينا الشمالية، حيث يدير معهد التعافي من الصدمات. وقد طور وقاد العديد من شبكات البحوث الوطنية المكرسة لتحسين التعافي العقلي والجسدي للناجين من الصدمات النفسية. وتشمل هذه الشبكات شبكات مكرسة للمساعدة في تحسين تعافي الأفراد في المستشفيات بعد إصابات الحروق الكبرى، وتعافي النساء اللواتي يعانين من الاعتداء الجنسي، والتعافي بعد أنواع أخرى من الصدمات بما في ذلك اصطدام السيارات. ويشمل العمل الحالي للدكتور ماكلين الخدمة كمنظم لدراسة أورورا، وهي دراسة تتكلف أكثر من 30 مليون دولار والتي تمولها المعاهد الوطنية للصحة ومعهد العقل الواحد، وشركاء آخرين والاستفادة من الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص مع شركة علوم الحياة جوجل (فيريلي) ومع ميندسترونج هيلث.

 

دراسة أورورا: تحقيق تطورات لتحسين النتائج الجسدية والصحة العقلية بعد الصدمة

 

يواجه مئات الملايين من الأفراد في جميع أنحاء العالم أحداثا مؤلمة و / أو شديدة الإجهاد مثل اصطدام السيارات، والاعتداء البدني أو الجنسي، والكوارث الطبيعية، أو الوفاة المفاجئة غير المتوقعة لزوج أو أحد أفراد الأسرة. إن الإعاقة الجسدية والعقلية لفترات طويلة شائعة بعد هذه الأحداث، وذلك بسبب اضطرابات مثل الإجهاد ما بعد الصدمة، والاكتئاب، وإصابات الدماغ الصغيرة الصادمة، وآلام في مناطق محددة أو واسعة الانتشار. ولا يمكن حاليا تحديد الأفراد المعرضين لخطر الإصابة بإعاقة طويلة الأمد في أعقاب الصدمة أو الإجهاد الشديد مباشرة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن كيفية تطور هذه الاضطرابات ليست مفهومة، ولا توجد تدخلات تمنع العجز لفترات طويلة في أولئك المعرضين لمخاطر عالية. إن دراسة أورورا هي دراسة مستقبلية واسعة النطاق للناجين من الصدمة التي تجري حاليا في أكثر من 20 مركز لعلاج الصدمة في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. يتم فحص خمسة آلاف شخص يعانون من الصدمة أو الإجهاد الشديد، ويتم استقطابهم، ويتلقون تقييم خط الأساس الأولي بما في ذلك جمع عينة الدم والتقييم النفسي والمسح، والتقييم المعرفي العصبي. ثم يتم مراقبة هؤلاء الأفراد خلال العام المقبل باستخدام ما يلي: معصم يمكن ارتداؤها صمم من قبل شركة علوم الحياة في جوجل، فيريلي، لرصد وظائف الأعضاء والنوم. وكذلك تطبيق الهواتف الذكية الذي صممه ميندسترونغ هيلث لرصد الوقت المستمر من نظام تحديد المواقع (جي بي إس) وعمليات مسح "فلاش" اليومية، والاختبارات المعرفية العصبية على شبكة الإنترنت الأسبوعية، والدراسات الاستقصائية الدورية مختلطة النمط؛ وجمع اللعاب المسلسل. وتقييمات النمط الظاهري العميقة [تجميع عينات الدم، والرنين المغناطيسي الوظيفي، والتقييم النفسي]). وسيتم استخدام العينات التكيفية والطرق الإحصائية المتطورة لتطوير أدوات تنبؤية ومؤشرات حيوية لتحديد الناجين من الصدمات المعرضين لخطر الإصابة الطويلة الأمد في وقت مبكر من الصدمة، وتحقيق تقدم في فهم تطورهم، وتطوير تدخلات جديدة لمنع الإعاقة في أولئك المعرضين لمخاطر عالية.

3- O-24 : الاعاقة عند كبار السن

المتحدث : د. أحمد ال حبتر

الموعد  : 2:10-2:30

د. أحمد ال حبتر

البورد الأسترالي في طب التأهيل

الزمالة الأسترالية في تأهيل إصابات الحبل الشوكي

استشاري طب التأهيل بمدينة الملك فيصل الطبية

 

الاعاقة عند كبار السن

 

تمت دراسة اكثر من 1700 من الرجال ممن اعمارهم اكثر من 65 سنة وتقييم حالتهم الصحية عن طريق استبيان وفحص سريري وتحاليل دم. ثم تمت مقارنتها بنتائج فحصهم بعد سنتين. 1367 اكملوا الفحص بعد سنتين. المتغيرات التي تم استخدامها كمؤشر على القدرة والاعاقة هي مقياس كاتز للقدرة على القيام بالأنشطة اليومية, إمكانية الوقوف من على الكرسي خمس مرات دون مساعدة إضافة الى سرعة المشي.

بعد تحليل البيانات اتضح لنا ان بعض المعطيات ترتبط بزيادة احتمالية حدوث الإعاقة ومن ذلك التقدم في السن واستخدام الادوية والمعاناة من امراض متعددة إضافة الى القدرة النفسية والذهنية


 

 

4- O-25 : الدليل على قدرة العلاج العملي للأطفال المصابين بالشلل الدماغي: تستخرج النتائج من دراستين في جنوب أفريقيا نبذة عامة

المتحدث : د. جيليان سالوجي

الموعد  : 2:30-2:50

د. جيليان سالوجي

مدير تنفيذي

معهد مالاموليلي أونوارد

 

الدكتور جيليان سالوجي هي أخصائي في العلاج الطبيعي للأطفال تبدي خاص بالعمل مع الأسر والأطفال المصابين بالشلل الدماغي الذين يعيشون في البيئات الأفريقية ذات الموارد المحدودة. وهي حاليا المدير التنفيذي لمنظمة خدمات ودعم الإعاقة مالاموليل اونوورد، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تقدم خدمات العلاج والتدريب والرعاية للأطفال ذوي الشلل الدماغي الذين يعيشون في المناطق الريفية الفقيرة في جنوب أفريقيا. حصلت على الدكتوراه من جامعة ويتواترسراند في عام 2007 حيث ركزت أطروحتها على الأطفال الذين يعانون من الشلل الدماغي وأسرهم. وهي تشارك بنشاط في العديد من المشاريع البحثية المتعلقة بالأطفال المصابين بالشلل الدماغي وأسرهم الذين يعيشون في ظروف محدودة الموارد ولديها العديد من المنشورات في المجلات التي يراجعها زملائها. ويعد المنتزه هو وجهتها المفضلة.

 

الدليل على قدرة العلاج العملي للأطفال المصابين بالشلل الدماغي: تستخرج النتائج من دراستين في جنوب أفريقيا

نبذة عامة

تضع الاعتبارات الأخلاقية لمنع العلاج الصعوبات صعوبات في تقديم دليل على العلاج الوظيفي العملي المقدم للأطفال المصابين بالشلل الدماغي. في حين تقدم الأطر محدودة الموارد الفرصة لاستهداف تلك المعضلة، فغالبا ما تتشكل الرعاية القياسية من علاج محدود (على سبيل المثال، 30 دقيقة شهريا تساوي خمس ساعات على مدار السنة).

الهدف

تحديد ما إن كانت المعالجة العلاجية المباشرة قد أطفت أي سمة إيجابية على الأداء الوظيفي للأطفال المصابين بالشلل الدماغي الذين يعيشون في مناطق ريفية فقيرة بجنوب أفريقيا.

أجريت دراستان في محافظات ريفية مختلفة في جنوب أفريقيا.

في الدراسة الأولى، تلقى عشرون طفلا، يعانون من الشلل الدماغي بدرجات من متوسطة الخطورة إلى شديد الخطورة، علاجا وظيفيا عمليا مكثفا لمدة خمسة أيام متتالية وذلك بتوفير المعدات اللازمة وتدريب مقدمي الرعاية داخل مستشفى واحدة. تم اختيار الأطفال على أساس أعمارهم ومستوى نظام تصنيف الوظائف الحركية الكبرى مع 19 طفلا أكملوا 45 دقيقة وأكملوا جلسات علاجية قائمة على الحركة السلبية شهريا في مستشفى آخر في نفس المنطقة.

في الدراسة الثانية، تم اختيار أطفال يتراوح أعمارهم من 1 عام إلى 17 عام في جميع مستويات نظام تصنيف الوظائف الحركية الكبرى، يحضرون إلى عيادة ريفية متخصصة في علاج الشلل الدماغي، بطريقة عشوائية من أحد ثلاثة أزرع دراسية على أساس التجميع الجغرافي: (i) جلسة تدريب لمقدمي الرعاية لمرة واحدة لمدة ساعتين (لا يوجد مجموعات تدخل)، أو (ii) ورشة تدريبية لمقدمي الرعاية لمدة ساعتين يوما على مدار خمسة أيام (المجموعة التدريبية لمقدمي الرعاية)، (iii) ورشة تدريبية لمقدمي الرعاية لمدة ساعتين يوما بالإضافة إلى 75 دقيقة لعلاج عملي يومي لمدة خمسة أيام (المجموعة العلاجية). يعطي جميع الأطفال معدات ويستمرون في حصورهم المواعيد العلاجية الشهرية.

في كلا الدراستين، تقيم نتائج الطفل ومقدم الرعاية على أساس ثابت قبل وبعد المدخل مباشرة وبعد ثمانية أسابيع وذلك باستخدام أدوات صالحة للتقييم.

النتائج

في الدراسة الأولى، كان هناك تحسنا كبيرا ذو دلالة إحصائية في مقياس الوظائف الحركية الكبرى – رقم 66 وكما سجل تقييم طب الأطفال لجرد قائمة العجز لمجموعة المدخل من خط الأساس للمتابعة (ما يقصد بمقياس الوظائف الحركية الكبرى – رقم 66، التغير= 3.41، 95% من فترة (مجال) الثقة= 1.10 – 5.07، القيمة الاحتمالية= 0.004؛ ما يقصد بتقييم طب الأطفال لجرد قائمة العجز، التغير= 3.10، 95% من مجال الثقة= 0.72 – 5.47، القيمة الاحتمالية= 0.01). كما تحسنت نتائج مقدم الرعاية التي تقاس بالدعم العائلي ومقاييس الصحة النفسية بشكل كبير (ما يقصد بالدعم العائلي، التغير= 3.20، 95% من فترة (مجال) الثقة= 0.87 – 5.52، القيمة الاحتمالية= 0.01؛ ما يقصد بمقاييس الصحة النفسية، التغير= 10.00، 95% من مجال الثقة= 8.79– 19.12، القيمة الاحتمالية= 0.03). لم يكن هناك أي تغير في أي نتائج لمجموعة التحكم.

ألحق ثمانية وستون طفلا بالدراسة الثانية. كان ما سجلته مقياس الوظائف الحركية الكبرى أفضل كثيرا للمجموعة العلاجية مقارنة بالمجموعتين الأخريين وذلك بعد متابعة للأطفال دامت ثمانية أسابيع (ما يقصد باختلاف المجموعة العلاجية 1.9 [95% من فترة (مجال) الثقة، 0.05 – 3.8]، المجموعة التدريبية لمقدمي الرعاية – 0.64[95% من فترة (مجال) الثقة، 1.3 – 2.8]؛ لا يوجد أي مجموعات إدخال أخرى 0.76 [95% من فترة (مجال) الثقة، 1.3 – 2.8]). وبالمثل سجل تقييم طب الأطفال لجرد قائمة العجز ارتفاعا كبيرا في مجموعة المدخل (3.92 [95% من فترة (مجال) الثقة، 0.29– 8.12]) لكن لم تتحقق هذه الزيادة في المجموعات الأخرى. على النقيض، كانت التغيرات ذات الصلة بمقدمي الرعاية في المجموعة التدريبية لمقدمي الرعاية هي الأكبر.

الخاتمة

تعرض هذه الدراسات الدليل الأول للأطر محدودة الموارد فعلى المدى القصير يمكن أن لتدخل علاي لمرة واحدة أن يحسن الأداء الوظيفي للأطفال بشكل كبير. كما يمكن تحقيق أكبر قدر ممكن من المكاسب القصوى من خلال مزيج من تدريب مقدمي الرعاية والعلاج العملي.

 

5- O-26 : تأثير التلاعب في العمود الفقري على التشنج العضلي في الشلل الدماغي، تجربة عشوائية التحكم

المتحدث : د. تاراس فولوشين

الموعد  : 2:50-3:10

 

د. تاراس فولوشين

طبيب معالج

العيادة الدولية لإعادة التأهيل

 

ولد في 26 سبتمبر 1984 في لفيف، أوكرانيا. تخرج من كلية الطب في جامعة هاليتسكي لفيف الطبية الوطنية. في الفترة من 2007 إلى 2009 أنهى تدريبه في علم الأعصاب في مستشفى منطقة ريفني المركزية والمستشفى الإكلينيكي الإقليمي في لفيف. وهو عضو مناظر في أكاديميات الأوربية والأوربية الشرقية لإعاقة الطفولة منذ مارس 2009. وقد نشر الدكتور فولوشين 25 مقالة. وهو مسؤول عن التعاون مع معهد كارولينسكا (السويد)، والذي يقوم بالعمل على النطاق الدولي في تقييم شدة الشلل الدماغي (جي إم اف سي إس)، وظائف اليد (إم إيه سي إس)، تسجيلات الفيديو من وظائف المحرك الإجمالي (جي إم اف إم)، إيه إس دي. خلال عام 2016 قم بزيارة المملكة العربية السعودية وقطر والبحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة (رحلات عمل).

 

تأثير التلاعب في العمود الفقري على التشنج العضلي في الشلل الدماغي، تجربة عشوائية التحكم

 

المقدمة. تشير البحوث الحديثة إلى التأثير المحتمل للتلاعب في العمود الفقري (إس إم) على التشنجات العضلية. وكان الهدف من دراستنا للتحقيق في تأثير التلاعب في العمود الفقري على المدى القصير على تشنجات عضلات المعصم والبراعة اليدوية في مرضى الشلل الدماغي في تجربة ذات ضوابط عشوائية.

المرضى والأساليب. بعد فحص خط الأساس، تم توزيع 78 شخصا من مرضى الشلل الدماغي (من سن 7-18) بدون متلازمة تقلصات أو فرط الحركة عشوائيا إلى مجموعتين. خضعت المجموعات التجريبية للتلاعب في العمود الفقري، المجموعة الضابطة – تقليد التلاعب. تم إجراء التقييم الثاني بعد 5 دقائق من التدخل. تم قياس تشنج عضلات المعصم كميا مع نيوروفلكسور، وهو جهاز قياس المقاومة للحركات السلبية للسرعات المختلفة. وتم تقييم البراعة اليدوية بواسطة اختبار الصندوق والكتل. واستخدمت الإحصاءات غير القياسية.

النتائج. في المجموعة التجريبية قلت نسبة التشنج العضلي بنسبة 2.18 نيوتن: من متوسط 5.53 مع المدى الرباعي (أي أر) 8.66 إلى 3.35 (أي أر = 7.19)، كان الفرق كبيرا إحصائيا (بي = 0.002). في المجموعة الضابطة كان الاتخفاض في التشنج لا يكاد يذكر. كان الفرق بين المجموعتين في تغير التشنج العضلي ذو دلالة إحصائية(بي = 0.034).ولم يكن التحسن البراعة اليدوية ذو دلالة إحصائية(بي = 0.28).

الاستنتاجات. تشير الدراسة إلى أن التلاعب في العمود الفقري يسبب انخفاض في التشنج في المرضى الذين يعانون من الشلل الدماغي. ويجب أن تدرس الآثار طويلة الأجل للتلاعب في العمود الفقري على التشنج العضلي.

6- O-27 : دراسة تأثير و ضعية الجسد الغير صحيحة و العبء العملي العقلي على صحة الموظفين المكتبيين للحدمن الإصابات والاعاقات

المتحدث : د. هاني النخلي

الموعد  : 3:10-3:30

 

د.هانيالنخلي

إستشاريعلاج طبيعي و تأهيل

 مستشفى النساء و الولادة والأطفال بالمدينة المنورة

 

خلال مسيرته العملية ،تم تكليفة بأكثر من منصب قيادي ،من ضمنها: رئيس قسم العلاج الطبيعي و التأهيل بمستشفى النساء و الولادة والأطفال بالمدينة المنورة. وهو أيضا عضو رئيسي في لجنة التعليم و التدريب و التثقيف الصحي بإدارة التأهيل الطبي في وزارة الصحة.الدكتور/ هاني النخلي تم منحه شهادة الدكتوراة الفلسفية فيعلوم التأهيل الطبي PhD   من جامعة لومالندا بكاليفورنيا نهاية عام 2011 . خلال تلك الفترة  وبعدها  شارك في العديد من البحوث العلمية ،وتم نشر أكثر من بحث علمي في مجال تخصصه. وهو أيضا حاصل على شهادة الدكتوراه التطبيقية في العلاج الطبيعي   DPT  ،وشهادة الماجستير في العلاج الطبيعي   MPT

 

دراسة تأثير و ضعية الجسد الغير صحيحة و العبء العملي العقلي على صحة الموظفين المكتبيين للحدمن الإصابات  و الاعاقات

أظهرت البيانات الأخيرة معدلات متزايدة من الاضطرابات العضلية الهيكلية والاعتلالات النفسية بين مجتمع العمل. وتشمل هذه الاضطرابات، ولا تقتصر على، متلازمة النفق الرسغي، التهاب الأوتار على مستويات مختلفة من الجسم، آلام أسفل الظهر، آلام الرقبة، والإجهاد النفسي. وتعتبر هذه المضاعفات المتعلقة بالصحة من بين الأسباب الرئيسية للإعاقة في مكان العمل الحديث، وعادة ما تبدأ بعدم الراحة أو الألم أو الإصابة المباشرة. وكثير من هذه الاضطرابات عادة سببها محطة العمل الغير مهيأة أو المشغولة بطريقة خاطئة. وعلى الرغم – - من هذه الحقيقة، لم تتلقى إصابات العمل المكتبية الاهتمام المطلوب في مجتمع العمل السعودي. وبالإضافة لذلك، تبرز أهمية هذه الدراسة وهي بسبب التحديات التي ستواجهها بيئة العمل خلال تنفيذ الرؤية السعودية 2030 ، إذا لم يتم تناول هذا الموضوع بشكل مناسب. تهدف هذه الدراسة إلى الكشف عن الإصابات المتعلقة بالعمل المكتبي، ومنعها؛ من خلال التحقيق في ارتباطاتها مع بيئة العمل غير الملائمة. وقد أجري هذا التحقيق في إطار دراسة الوضع الحالي لبيئة العمل المكتبية مع التركيز على وضعية الجلوس وعبء العمل العقلي. ثم تم تقييم العلاقة بين آلام العضلات والعظام والآلام النفسية للموظفين من جهة وعادات الجلوس والعبء العقلي من جهة أخرى. ليتم بعد ذلك الإعلان عن التصميم المناسب والممارسات الصحية لمحطة العمل؛ للحد من الإعاقة واصابات العمل  ولجمع البيانات المطلوبة، استخدمت الدراسة استبيان مكون من ثلاثين سؤال، شارك فيه أكثر من ألف عامل تم اختيارهم عشوائيا داخل المملكة العربية السعودية. وقد تم استخدام هذا الاستبيان لدراسة: الديموغرافيات الشخصية، المعلومات الطبية، آلام العضلات وتاريخ العلاج الطبيعي، بيئة ومحطة العمل، عادات الجلوس، والراحة النفسية للمشاركين. كما تم إجراء تجربتين عبور عشوائية محكمة، تتألف من أربعة وعشرين فردا، مقسمة بالتساوي إلى أربع مجموعات. وقد افترضت هذه التجارب وجود اختلافات كبيرة في معدلات ضربات القلب وضغط الدم وفقا للمواقف المختلفة وأعباء العمل العقلي  بعد تصفية وتحليل البيانات التي تم جمعها وذلك باستخدام الطرق الإحصائية اللازمة، وجد أن وضعية الجلوس وعبء العمل العقلي لكل منهما على حدة آثار كبيرة على العلامات الحيوية التي درست )ضغط الدم، نبضات القلب(. وأظهرت النتائج أيضا أن حوالي 78 ٪ من المشاركين عانوا من نوع من الألم العضلي، ولكن 30 ٪ منهم فقط زاروا عيادة للعلاج الطبيعي. في حين أن عادات الجلوس غير الصحية أو تصاميم محطة العمل الغير صحيحة ولدت أكثر من 30 ٪ من آلام العضلات، مما يعني أن الفائدة من العلاج الطبيعي كانت ذات نسبة محدودة جدا وغير مجدية مالم يتم تصحيح وضعية الجلوس او محطة العمل. وكشفت الدراسة أيضا أن أكثر من 44 ٪ من المشاركين تم تزويدهم بمحطات عمل غير مريحة بالحد الأدنى، مما يوحي بأن استخدام القياسات البشرية وعلم الهندسة البشرية لا ترقى إلى المستوى المأمول من جانب أصحاب العمل. ولذلك، يوصى بإجراء مزيد من الدراسات بشأن هذه النتيجة. أما بالنسبة للراحة النفسية، استطاعت الدراسة أن تستنتج أن أكثر من 55 ٪ من المشاركين كانوا يشعرون بالأسى وعدم الارتياح تجاه بيئة عملهم. وفي الختام، تقترح الدراسة زيادة وعي المجتمع بأهمية الهندسة البشرية في مكان العمل؛ بعد تسليط الضوء على مخاطر عادات الجلوس السيئة وعدم الراحة النفسية. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن التوظيف المناسب للهندسة البشرية في بيئة العمل يتطلب تعاون كلا الطرفين؛ الموظفين وأصحاب العمل، فقط من خلال هذا التحالف، يسهم علم الهندسة البشرية في زيادة الإنتاجية، وتقليل خسارة الوقت؛ مما يؤدي إلى الحفاظ على صحة الأفراد، وتعظيم أرباح المنظمات