×

Transportation & Accessibility

Sunday, 15 Rajab 1439 AH - 1 April 2018 AD 1:30 PM-3:30 PM Auditorium 2

Session moderator : Eng. Talal Al Harbi

Spekers:

2- W-6 : How to Make Your Academic Institution Accessible for All in Five Years?

Speaker: Dr Wajdi Wazzan

Wajdi Ahmed Wazzan

Vice Dean for Students with Special Needs and Faculty of Engineering

King Abdulaziz University

 

He obtained his B.Sc. in Industrial Engineering from King Abdulaziz University (Jeddah, Saudi Arabia) in 1993, M.S. in Engineering Management from the University of Central Florida (Orlando, USA) in 1998, and Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering from the University of Central Florida (Orlando, USA) in 2007. Dr. Wazzan, a wheelchair user due to polio, is currently an Assistant Professor at the Department of Industrial Engineering, KAU and the Vice Dean for Students with Special Needs, Deanship of Students’ Affair where he is working on large projects (more than 1 Million US $) to make King Abdulaziz University an accessible environment for students with disabilities. His Ph.D. dissertation was partially supported by the National Science Foundation (NSA) in the USA and currently his research endeavours received grants from the Deanship of Scientific Research and the Vice Presidency for Academic Affairs at KAU and the national transformation initiative 2020 towards the new vision for the kingdom in 2030. His research interests include engineering education, disability research, universal design, information systems, cognitive learning.

 

How to Make Your Academic Institution Accessible for All in Five Years?

 

This workshop offers a hands-on experience on the work done at King Abdulaziz University, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia to make the university a friendly environment for persons with disabilities over the past five years and how to take advantage of it in other universities in the region. The workshop outlines the short, medium, and long-term strategic plans developed to achieve the goals, administrative measures and changes that have taken place at the university in this context. The workshop is presented interactively and includes the following topics:

1. A presentation on the status quo in the university before the start of Project

2. Changing the educational environment (topics including the application of the concept of universal Design in learning, changing the attitude of teaching staff with students with special needs, opening new disciplines and educating the deaf, autistic, etc.)

 3. Changing the built environment (accessibility project, first and longest blind track in the region and safe mobility for people with visual impairment)

4. The funded project by the national transformation initiative 2020 towards the new vision for the kingdom 2030 (Bluetooth for the blind project, the Daisy Format project, testing center project)

5. Serving the community (ex. Life on wheels exhibition, Makkah Governor prize for accessible practices)

6. The House of expertise

Who can benefit from attending the workshop:

1. Supervisors and administrators of university needs Centers

2. Leaders and members of the teaching staff of higher education institutions

3. Leaders and decision makers

3- W-7 : Royal Commission methodology in designing handicapped-complied projects

Speaker: Eng. Meshary Al-Ghanim

Meshary Al-Ghanim    

Project Engineer

Royal Commission in Jubail

 

Project engineer for designing many schools and kindergartens. Participated in the study of functional analysis of schools, the regional center for quality and excellence in education, the center of educational activities, Jubail airport and interactive visitors exhibition center. In addition to many mosques and other projects. He holds a Bachelor of Architecture and a Master of Engineering and Construction Management from King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals.

 

Royal Commission methodology in designing handicapped-complied projects

 

Royal Commission in Jubail and Yanbu ensures that its projects are complying with Saudi and international codes including the accessibility requirements.The neighborhood districts and clusters accessibility is designed to meet the requirements of privacy, security, controlled access, way finding and identity. Pedestrian circulation and activities are encouraged and laid out in a simple network to be accessible and to encourage residents to walk for short trips to the neighborhood centers. Buildings accesses are integrated with the surroundings to provide ease of accessibility. The buildings are designed to be in compliance with SBC, IBC and ICC-A117. A checklist is used in designing and reviewing the projects to ensure that the building design is fulfilling the accessibility requirements. This checklist are meant to assist the designers and reviewers in the preparation and review of project documents.  It identifies the minimum code analysis and code requirements for all projects. This checklist includes Parking, walkways, entrances, corridors, toilets and plumbing fixtures, doors, and signage. Royal Commission prepare periodical training for their designers and reviewers for educating them about the requirement of the code.The cycles of design reviews are 10%, 30%, 60%, 90% and 100% where at each stage the project is reviewed against the Saudi and International codes. An example of RC designed project shows the different elements of ADA complied project that need to be implemented. Details of requirements in ADA elements are highlighted such as Grab bars size, shape and strength in addition to stair nosing shape and visibility, surfaces resistance, ground opening sizes and direction, signage finishes and dimensions. 

1- W-5 : Design across the visual divide: Design for Universal Delight

Speaker: Chris Downey

Christopher V. Downey, AIA

Architect

Architecture for the Blind

 

With 20 years of architectural practice before losing all sight in 2008, Chris Downey now leverages his disability as a unique strength specializing in projects rooted in universal design and in projects that are specific to or challenging for people who are blind and visually impaired. Whether rehabilitation or transit centers, eye clinics, or museums, he designs environments that are accessible with particular care and focus on visual accessibility and the non-visual experience. Chris has consulted on projects in San Francisco, California including the Lighthouse for the Blind, the Independent Living Resource Center and the Transbay Transit Center as well as the Department of Veterans Affairs Polytrauma and Blind Rehabilitation Center in nearby Palo Alto, CA. He has also consulted on various planning and public transit projects including the development of the Downtown Corridor Plan for the nearby City of Concord, design and community engagement for the AC Transit Bus Rapid Transit project, and has consulted with and advised BART on numerous accessibility and Universal Design initiatives. He has consulted nationally on such projects as the Duke University Eye Center in Durham, North Carolina, renovations to housing for the blind in New York City and for accessibility improvements for the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago, IL. He is currently consulting on the new headquarters for the National Industries for the Blind in Alexandria, VA, the new UPMC Eye Institute in Pittsburgh, PA the development of a new inclusive wayfinding strategy for Microsoft's campus in Redmond, WA and a new campus and building(s) for the South Dakota School for the Blind and Visually Impaired in Aberdeen, SD. His work is now global consulting with Grimshaw Architects of the UK and Thinc Design of New York for the Expo 2020, Sustainability Pavilion in Dubai, UAE.

As an architect and designer deeply imbedded within the blind and disability culture and community, he has grown to realize that his disability, his blindness, is less about what cannot be seen but more importantly about the broad and rich spectrum of the sensory phenomena that can be experienced and understood on multiple levels that can all be composed and curated toward a common shared goal. Chris has transformed his disability into a unique strength leveraging it as a powerful design strategy for richer and more immersive experiences to the benefit of all. This approach infuses his prior sighted architectural experience with the wide range of work specific to and within the blind, visually impaired, and general disability experience for a truly unique skill set and platform as collaborator and advisor .

Chris also teaches accessibility and Universal Design for the University of California, Berkeley Department of Architecture, is involved with two federally funded research projects including the development of design guidelines for improved wayfinding and orientation for the blind and visually impaired in airports for the Federal Aviation Administration and has a Gubernatorial appointment to the California Commission on Disability Access. He has served on the board of directors for the LightHouse for the Blind of San Francisco since 2010 and as its president since 2016. He speaks internationally about Architecture and visual impairment ,has been featured in numerous media stories including The 2015 AIA documentary short, "An architect's Story " while his TED Talk, "Design with the Blind in Mind," has been viewed nearly a million times. The American Foundation for the Blind has honored Chris with its 2017 Helen Keller Achievement Award and the Associated Services for the Blind in Philadelphia, PA honored him with its 2017 Louis Braille Achievement Award while the AIA California Council has honored him with its 2016 Norma Sklarek award for social responsibility. Most recently, the College of Design at North Carolina State University, where he received his undergraduate degree in architecture, has selected him for its 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Chris received his Bachelor of Environmental Design from North Carolina State University in 1984 and his Masters of Architecture from the University of California Berkeley in 1992.

 

Design across the visual divide: Design for Universal Delight

 

Blind architect Chris Downey offers a unique look through his total sight loss to share a thoughtful glimpse of the broad spectrum of the blind and visually impaired experience posing the question, "what is delight if it cannot be seen?" He then helps sighted architects, engineers and designers to imagine and nurture delight for all to enjoy - with or without sight. The workshop and address will consider empathy, research, design examples, strategies to emulate and failures to avoid through an inspiring  and at times humorous talk with a uniquely accessible presentation format. Workshop exercises will include break-out sessions to explore non-visual design strategies and multi-sensory experiences. Attendees will leave with a deeper understanding of visual and non-visual needs to address for more inclusive design, a stronger understanding of how design for multi-sensory experiences are essential to the creation of delight and several new ideas to pursue for future projects. If you aspire to provide access beyond mere function toward access to delight for all of us, your future success depends on developing a rich sense of empathy across the entire visual and sensory experience. Learn to look through and design for the eyes of others including those that don't "look" like you.

W-8 : King Saud University &  Universal Accessibility 

Speaker: Dr. Naser Al Ajmi 

W-9 :  Transportaion Authority 

Phillipe Ducom

×

النقل والوصول الشامل

الأحد 15 رجب 1439هـ ، 1 أبريل 2018 م 1:30-3:30 القاعة: 2

مدير الجلسة: م. طلال الحربي

المتحدثون:

1- W-5 : كيف تجعل جامعتك او مؤسستك التعليمية سهلة الوصول للجميع خلال خمسة سنوات؟

المتحدث : د. وجدي وزان

د. وجدي أحمد وزان

أستاذا مساعدا في قسم الهندسة الصناعية

وكيل لعمادة شؤون الطلاب لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة

جامعة الملك عبدالعزيز

 

حصل وجدي أحمد وزان على بكالوريوس العلوم في الهندسة الصناعية من جامعة الملك عبدالعزيز (جدة، المملكة العربية السعودية) في عام 1993 ، والماجستير في الإدارة الهندسية من جامعة سنترال فلوريدا (أورلاندو، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) في عام 1998 ، والدكتوراه في الهندسة الصناعية من جامعة سنترال فلوريدا (أورلاندو، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) في عام 2007. الدكتور وزان ، وهو مستخدم للكرسي المتحرك بسبب شلل الأطفال ، يعمل حاليا أستاذا مساعدا في قسم الهندسة الصناعية، جامعة الملك عبدالعزيز و وكيل لعمادة شؤون الطلاب لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة ،  حيث يعمل على مشاريع كبيرة (أكثر من مليون دولار أمريكي) لجعل جامعة الملك عبد العزيز بيئة يسهل الوصول إليها للطلاب من ذوي الإعاقة.  تم دعم أطروحة الدكتوراه جزئيا من قبل المؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وفي الوقت الحالي تلقى مساعيه البحثية منح من عمادة البحث العلمي و وكيل الجامعة للشؤون الأكاديمية في جامعة الملك عبد العزيز ومبادرة التحول الوطني 2020 نحو الرؤية الجديدة للمملكة في عام 2030. وتشمل اهتماماته البحثية التعليم الهندسي، وبحوث الإعاقة، والتصميم للجميع، ونظم المعلومات، والتعلم المعرفي.

 

كيف تجعل جامعتك او مؤسستك التعليمية سهلة الوصول للجميع خلال خمسة سنوات؟

 

تقدم ورشة العمل عرض عن العمل الذي تم في جامعة الملك عبدالعزيز ، جدة ، السعودية  لجعل الجامعة بيئة صديقة لذوي الإعاقة خلال الخمس سنوات الماضية وكيفية الاستفادة منه في باقي مؤسسات التعليم العالي في المنطقة. توضح الورشة الخطط الاستراتيجية القصيرة والمتوسطة والبعيدة المدى التي وضعت لتحقيق الهدف والتدابير الإدارية والتغييرات التي حصلت في الجامعة في هذا السياق.  تقدم الورشة بشكل تفاعلي مع عرض أفلام عن الموضوع وتشمل المواضيع التالية:

1. عرض عن الوضع القائم في الجامعة قبل بدء المشروع

2. تغيير البيئة التعليمية (تشمل مواضيع منها تطبيق مفهوم التعليم المتساوي للجميع Universal Design in Learning وتغيير تعاطي أعضاء هيئة التدريس مع الطلاب من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة وفتح تخصصات جديدة وتعليم الصم وذوي التوحد وغير ذلك)

3. تغيير البيئة المكانية (مشروع سهولة الوصول)

4. الفوز بمبادرة تعزيز مكانة ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة في البيئة الجامعية ضمن مبادرات التحول الوطني 2020 (التنقل الآمن للمكفوفين ، الكتب الالكترونية بالدايزي فورمات ، مركز الاختبارات)

5. خدمة المجتمع (معرض الحياة على عجلات ، جائزة أمير منطقة مكة لسهولة الوصول)

6. بيت الخبرة

من ممكن أن يستفيد من الورشة:

1. مشرفي واداري مراكز ذوي الاحتياجات في الجامعات

2. قيادات وأعضاء هيئة التدريس في مؤسسات التعليم العالي

3. القادة وصناع القرار

 

2- W-6 : الهيئة الملكية في تصميم المشاريع لذوي الإعاقة

المتحدث : م. مشاري الغانم

 

م. مشاري الغانم

مهندس مشروع

الهيئة الملكية في الجبيل

 

اشرف وساهم في الاشراف على تصميم المشاريع التعليمية التالية: العديد من المدارس والروضات الحالية ونماذج المدارس المستقبلية، دراسة التحليل الوظيفي للمدارس، المركز الاقليمي للجودة والتميز في التعليم، مركز الانشطة التربوية لإدارة الخدمات التعليمية، مطار الجبيل ومعرض الزوار التفاعلي بالإضافة الى العديد من المساجد والمشاريع الاخرى. حاصل على بكالريوس العمارة وماجستير هندسة وإدارة التشييد من جامعة الملك فهد للبترول والمعادن.

الهيئة الملكية في تصميم المشاريع لذوي الإعاقة

تعمل الهيئة الملكية في الجبيل وينبع على أن تتوافق مشاريعها مع المتطلبات والاشتراطات السعودية والدولية بما في ذلك متطلبات الوصول الشامل.وقد روعي عند تصميم الأحياء تلبية متطلبات الخصوصية والأمن والتحكم بالمداخل والهوية. وتم الأخذ بعين الاعتبار في التصميم حركة المشاة وربطها في شبكة مبسطة لتحفيزهم على التنقل وتشجيع سكان الاحياء على ممارسة المشي من وإلى مراكز الأحياء. تم دمج تصميم المباني ومداخلها مع المناطق المحيطة لتوفير سهولة الوصول. صممت المباني لتكون متوافقة مع المتطلبات والاشتراطات السعودية والدولية ومن ضمنها (ICC-A117). وتستخدم الهيئة الملكية قائمة مرجعية تدقيقية (Checklist) عند تصميم ومراجعة المشاريع للتأكد من أن تصميم المبنى يستوفي متطلبات الوصول الشامل. وتهدف هذه القائمة لمساعدة المصممين والمراجعين في إعداد ومراجعة المشروع. وهي تعين الحد الأدنى من المتطلبات والاشتراطات اللازمة لتصميم المشاريع والتي تشمل مواقف السيارات والممرات الخارجية والداخلية والمداخل ودورات المياه والكهرباء والسباكة والأبواب بالإضافة الى اللافتات الإرشادية والتنبيهية. تقوم الهيئة الملكية بعمل ورش تدريبية دورية للمصممين ومراجعي المشاريع التابعين لها لتعليمهم حول متطلبات كود البناء السعودي والدولي. يتم تصميم المشاريع في مراحل مختلفة وهي 10٪ و 30٪ و 60٪ و 90٪ و 100٪ وفي كل مرحلة تتم مراجعة المشروع والتأكد من تماشيها مع متطلبات واشتراطات البناء السعودية والدولية. تستعرض الورقة مثال على احد مشاريع الهيئة الملكية تم تصميمه وفقا لمتطلبات الوصول الشامل. يتم تسليط الضوء على تفاصيل الاحتياجات في عناصر الوصول الشامل مثل حجم الدرابزين والشكل والقوة بالإضافة إلى معايير تصميم الدرج، ومقاومة الأسطح، وأحجام الفتحات الأرض اتجاهاتها، واللافتات وأبعادها.

3- W-7 : التصميم عبر الانفصال البصري: تصميم لفرحة عالمية

المتحدث : د. كريستوفر داوني

د. كريستوفر في داوني، إيه أي ايه

مهندس معماري

العمارة للمكفوفين

بعد 20 عاما من الممارسة المعمارية وقبل أن يفقد كامل بصره في عام 2008، يحول كريس داوني الآن إعاقته إلى قوة فريدة من نوعها متخصصة في المشاريع المتجذرة في التصميم العالمي والمشاريع المتخصصة أو التي تشكل تحديا للأشخاص المكفوفين وضعاف البصر. وسواء كانت مراكز إعادة التأهيل أو العبور أو عيادات العيون أو المتاحف، فإنه يقوم بتصميم البيئات التي يمكن الوصول إليها بعناية خاصة والتركيز على إمكانية الوصول البصري والتجارب غير المرئية. وقد أدلى كريس باستشاراته في مشاريع في سان فرانسيسكو، كاليفورنيا بما في ذلك المنارة للمكفوفين ومركز الموارد الحية المستقلة ومركز ترانسباي للعبور وكذلك إدارة شؤون المحاربين القدامى ومركز الإصابات المتعددة وإعادة تأهيل المكفوفين في بالو ألتو القريبة، بكاليفورنيا. وتم استشارته أيضا في مختلف مشاريع النقل العام بما في ذلك وضع خطة ممر وسط المدينة لمدينة قريبة من كونكورد مع التصميم والمشاركة المجتمعية في مشروع إيه سي للعبور والنقل السريع بالحافلات وأدلى باستشاراته لمنظمة النقل السريع بمنطقة الخليج حول العديد من سبل الوصول ومبادرات التصميم العالمي. وقد تشاور على الصعيد الوطني في مشاريع مثل مركز عيون جامعة ديوك في دورهام بولاية كارولينا الشمالية، وتجديدات السكن للمكفوفين في مدينة نيويورك، وتحسينات الوصول لمتحف العلوم والصناعة في شيكاغو، إلينوي. ويجري مشاورات حاليا في المقر الجديد للصناعات الوطنية للمكفوفين في الإسكندرية بفيرجينيا ومعهد العين UPMC الجديد في بيتسبرغ ببنسلفانيا ووضع استراتيجية تحديد مسار جديدة شاملة لمقر مايكروسوفت في ريدموند بواشنطن وحرمها الجديد ومباني مدارس بولاية داكوتا الجنوبية للمكفوفين وضعاف البصر في أبردين بداكوتا الجنوبية. ويعمل الآن في الاستشارة العالمية مع مؤسسة غريمشاو للمهندسين المعماريين في المملكة المتحدة وثينك ديزاين بنيويورك لمعرض إكسبو 2020، وجناح الاستدامة في دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وباعتباره مهندس معماري ومصمم متعمق بثقافة المكفوفين وذوي الإعاقة والمجتمع، فقد تربى ليعرف أن إعاقته والعمى الذي أصابه أقل ما يمكن رؤيته ولكن الأهم من ذلك هو الطيف الواسع والغني للظواهر الحسية التي يمكن تجربتها وفهمها على مستويات متعددة والتي يمكن أن تتألف جميعها وتنسق نحو هدف مشترك معهود. وقد حول كريس إعاقته إلى قوة فريدة من نوعها تدفعه نحو استراتيجية تصميم قوية لتجارب أكثر ثراء وأكثر تعمقا لصالح الجميع. ويصهر هذا النهج خبرته المعمارية السابقة المتبصرة ببوتقة مكونة من مجموعة واسعة من الأعمال الخاصة بالمكفوفين وضعاف البصر مع خبرة عامة بالإعاقة لمجموعة ومنصة فريدة من المهارات كمتعاون ومستشار.

يقوم كريس أيضا بتعليم إمكانية الوصول والتصميم العالمي لجامعة كاليفورنيا بقسم الهندسة المعمارية ببيركلي واشترك باثنين من المشاريع البحثية الممولة اتحاديا بما في ذلك وضع مبادئ توجيهية للتصميم لتحسين تحديد الاتجاه والتوجيه للمكفوفين وضعاف البصر في المطارات لصالح إدارة الطيران الاتحادية وله تعيين من حاكم المقاطعة بلجنة كاليفورنيا للوصول لذوي الإعاقة. وقد عمل ضمن مجلس الإدارة للمنارة للمكفوفين بسان فرانسيسكو منذ عام 2010 ورئيسا لها منذ عام 2016. ويتحدث دوليا عن العمارة وضعف البصر، وقد ظهر في العديد من القصص الإعلامية بما في ذلك الوثائقي القصير للمعهد الأمريكي للمعماريين 2015 بعنوان "قصة مهندس معماري "في حين أن حديث تيد "التصميم مع المكفوفين داخل العقل"، وقد تم عرضه لما يقرب من مليون مرة. وقد كرمت المؤسسة الأمريكية للمكفوفين كريس بجائزة هيلين كيلر للإنجاز لعام 2017 وجائزة أسوسياتد سيرفيسز للمكفوفين في فيلادلفيا، وقد كرمتهبنسلفانيا بجائزتها لويس برايل للإنجاز لعام 2017، في حين أن مجلس المعهد الأمريكي للمعماريين في كاليفورنيا قد كرمه بجائزة نورما سكلاريك لعام 2016 لمسؤوليته الاجتماعية. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، اختارته كلية التصميم في جامعة ولاية كارولينا الشمالية-حيث حصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الهندسة المعمارية-لجائزة الخريج المتميز عام 2017.

حصل كريس على بكالوريوس في التصميم البيئي من جامعة ولاية كارولينا الشمالية في عام 1984 ودرجة الماجستير في الهندسة المعمارية من جامعة كاليفورنيا ببيركلي في عام 1992.

التصميم عبر الانفصال البصري: تصميم لفرحة عالمية

يقدم المهندس المعماري للمكفوفين كريس داوني نظرة فريدة من خلال فقدانه التام للبصر ليتبادل لمحة مدروسة من الطيف الواسع لخبرة المكفوفين وضعاف البصر ويطرح السؤال، "ما هي الفرحة إذا كان لا يمكن رؤيتها؟" ثم يساعد المهندسين المعماريين والمهندسين والمصممين المبصرين على تخيل ورعاية الفرحة للجميع للاستمتاع بها – بوجود البصر أو بدونه. وسوف تراعي ورشة العمل والعنوان التعاطف والبحث وأمثلة التصميم واستراتيجيات المحاكاة والفشل في تجنب الحديث الملهم وفي بعض الأحيان روح الدعابة مع شكل عرض يتسم بسهولة الوصول بشكل فريد. وسوف تشمل تمارين ورشة العمل جلسات خروج لاستكشاف استراتيجيات التصميم غير المرئية والخبرات متعددة الحواس. سوف يغادر الحضور مع فهم أعمق للاحتياجات البصرية وغير البصرية لمعالجة التصميم بصورة أكثر شمولا، وبفهم أقوى لكيفية تصميم التجارب الحسية المتعددة والضرورية لخلق الفرحة والعديد من الأفكار الجديدة لمتابعة المشاريع المستقبلية. إذا كنت تطمح إلى توفير سهولة التوصل إلى ما وراء الوظيفة فقط للوصول إلى فرحتنا جميعا، فإن نجاحك في المستقبل يعتمد على تطوير شعور غني من التعاطف عبر التجربة البصرية والحسية بأكملها. تعلم أن تنظر من خلال عيون الآخرين وتصمم وفقا لها بما في ذلك تلك التي لا تشبهك

4- W-8 : جامعة الملك سعود والوصول الشامل 

المتحدث : د. ناصر العجمي 

5-  W-9 : هيئة النقل

المتحدث: فيليب دوكون